The Life and Times of Ronin Quinn

A Dad's eye view on the world at large

Livin’ The Dream? October 20, 2009

Filed under: General — wompsett @ 1:32 pm

The American Dream. I wanna know what kind of fucked up a-hole came up with this idea. OK, well I guess I do know, it was some historian named James Truslow Adams. But that is beside the point. The point is, what the hell was wrong with him? What kind of cough syrup was he drinking before bed? It sure as hell isn’t the kind that gives you dreams full of midair psychedelic swimming and euphoric encounters with strange jungle dwelling animals. No, his cough syrup gave him the idea that The American Dream included working hard. HUH? There are some other aspects too. But basically working hard is the predecessor to achieving the later parts of the dream, wealth/happiness/eternal joy and so on. I think I could achieve happiness just fine without waking up at the butt crack of dawn M-F and going into the office. Staring down my LCD screen for 8 hours a day waiting for that recess bell to ring. I would like to know who the sponsors of this dream were. Was this part of Sam Walton’s after school activities. Figure out how to make the American People miserable, then market it to them as their own idea. Hey you dreamed it not me, I just capitalized on it. Not that can I prove this last point, but it’s feasible right?

What brought this on I don’t know. Maybe it was not wanting to get out of bed today. Or maybe it’s that as long as I’ve been working I’ve been scheming for a way to not work. It’s not necessarily that I don’t want to work. It’s not even that I hate my job. It’s a good job, a shitty one (literally), but a good one. It just gets old selling plumbing supplies to countries across the world. Especially when one of those “companies” is the US Military. Which in a way forces me to support whatever action they or their mercenaries (KBR, XE, etc) are taking. But, it is a good job. And I’m certainly grateful for having it, but I’ve never had a dream that included any aspect of this or any other job I’ve ever held. Maybe if I could be a professional slacker, or a sponsored rock climber, or a photographer, or travel writer, or get paid to hike the trails that crisscross this nation, surfer, base jumper, ______ (enter anything exciting here). Maybe then I would feel differently about this whole American Dream thing. But I don’t. I sit at a desk and figure out what kind of toilet will best suite your ass.

Maybe I should take this as my queue to get off my ass and do something about my dream. Maybe, but unlikely. But there is hope for my Son. So Ronin, don’t give in to the American Dream. Dream your own damn dreams, and do with them what you please. If that means that you want to spend your days sitting at the beach waiting for that perfect wave or hiking deep into the backcountry, than so be it. Go right ahead (I say this now, lets see how I feel in 20 years). Whatever you do, make sure it’s what you want to do. And if you really do want to work hard, than that’s fine too. I’ll disown you, but at least you’ll be doing what you want. We can work on reconciliations later.

 

Leave a Reply

