The Life and Times of Ronin Quinn

A Dad's eye view on the world at large

Top 25 October 29, 2009

Filed under: General — wompsett @ 12:43 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Alright, so I had this idea to throw together some lists. Music related to be more specific. I wanted to do a few different top 25 lists (well it started as top 20’s, but that proved too difficult), in relation to artists that Monica and I wanted to make sure he was exposed to, albums we think he has to hear over and over while he’s a little tike, artists I hope he never has any interest in, and so on and so on. Here’s the problem: It’s really freaking hard. We did the top 25 bands/singers/songwriters to expose him to last night. Now I feel all twisted up inside because some of MY favorites didn’t make the list and it makes me feel sort of traitorous toward some of my favorite artists.. But the list isn’t about what I like, rather what we want to expose him to. So I’m not sure if we’ll do more or not. I don’t know if I can handle it. I hope to at least do albums, but that will be WAY harder than this one.

So here it is, the top 25 (alphabetical by the first name) Bands/Singers/Songwriters to expose Ronin to until he has his own iPod and can make his own musical choices.

1. Ani DiFranco
2. The Beastie Boys
3. The Beatles
4. Beck
5. Bob Marley (and The Wailers)
6. Carole King
7. David Bowie
8. Ella Fitzgerald
9. The Grateful Dead
10. James Brown
11. Jimi Hendrix
12. Led Zeppelin
13. Lee “Scratch” Perry
14. Michael Jackson
15. Miles Davis
16. Neil Young
17. Neko Case
18. Paul Simon
19. Pink Floyd
20. Pulp
21. Radiohead
22. Sleater Kinney
23. Sonic Youth
24. Stevie Wonder
25. Talking Heads

Feel free to post anyone that you think should or shouldn’t be on here. If you hate the list all together or if you think it’s perfect, feel free to post that too.

 

5 Responses to “Top 25”

  1. Ugh, I’ve already thought of 25+ other fantastic bands/artists that are not on this list! I don’t think I like lists either…

  2. molly Says:

    What, no Kanye?

    Don likes #s 22 & 23 but thinks Ronin needs a little Wayne…Coyne, I mean.

    • wompsett Says:

      The man’s got good taste. I’ll have to familiarize myself with the Flaming Lips a bit more, I haven’t listened to them all that much.

      Kayne was no.26, but we had to draw the line somewhere!

  3. lianamerlo Says:

    Not bad taste for a baby…
    But he’s gonna grow up soon and will want to listen to “the damn loud music” his parents hate. Catch him before he rebels, throw in some Ramones, Sex Pistols, and Misfits. Maybe add Bob Dylan for good measure so he doesn’t turn out to be a violent delinquent.

    • wompsett Says:

      Ha, I know. I think back to the days of MY parents screaming at me over both my musical choices and volume level and think Karma might come and kick me in my arse. Hard!

      Dylan was on the list until the last round, and The ramones were up there as well, but ultimately they got the axe!!

      (p.s.- thanks for checking out the blog)


Leave a Reply

